Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Department of English


Past Winners

Winners data
Year Winner Book Title Final Judge
2020 E.C. Belli A Sleep That Is Not Our Sleep Cathy Park Hong
2019 Steven Kleinman Life Cycle of a Bear C. G. Hanzlicek
2018 Mark Irwin Shimmer C. G. Hanzlicek
2017 Tina Mozelle Braziel Known by Salt C. G. Hanzlicek
2016 Rachel Rinehart The Church in the Plains Peter Everwine
2015 Andrea Jurjević Small Crimes C. G. Hanzlicek
2014 Christine Poreba Rough Knowledge Peter Everwine
2013 Chelsea Wagenaar Mercy Spurs the Bone Philip Levine
2012 Barbara Brinson Curiel Mexican Jenny and Other Poems Cornelius Eady
2011 Ariana Nadia Nash Instructions for Preparing Your Skin Denise Duhamel


Year Winner Book Title Final Judge
2010 Lory Bedikian The Book of Lamenting Brian Turner
2009 Sarah Wetzel Bathsheba Transatlantic Garrett Hongo
2008 Shane Seely The Snowbound House Dorianne Laux
2007 Neil Aitken The Lost Country of Sight C. G. Hanzlicek
2006 Lynn Aarti Chandhok The View From Zero Bridge Corrinne Clegg Hales
2005 Roxanne Beth Johnson Jubilee Philip Levine
2004 (contest suspended)    
2003 (contest suspended)    
2002 Steve Gehrke The Pyramids of Malpighi Philip Levine
2001 Fleda Brown Breathing In, Breathing Out Philip Levine


MFA Coordinator

Dr. Tim Skeen


5245 N. Backer Ave.
M/S PB98
Fresno, CA 93710


559.278.2553 - Phone
559.278.7143 - Fax


Peters Business Building
Third Floor
Room 382

Join us on Facebook facebook icon