Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Media, Communications and Journalism

Hall of Fame 2019 Inductees

On Nov. 14, 2019, the department honored Jim Wilson, George Gruner, Amy Wilson, Eric McCormick, George Smith Takata, Juan Esparza Loera, Jose Elgorriaga, Julie Lindahl Logan, Guy Haberman and Kelley Annette Sanchez. To view photos of the ceremony, click here.

Past Honorees

2017 MCJ Alumni and Friends Chapter Hall of Fame (Nov. 9).

Hall of Fame recipients: Jan Yanehiro, Jim Tucker and Joe Rosato, Sr. 

Fellows recipients: Tom Uribes, Jane Quebe, Paul McDougal, Michael Carr, Albert Cano, Blair Looney, Chris Chiames and Betsy Hays, APR, Fellow PRSA  

2015 MCJ Alumni and Friends Chapter Hall of Fame (Nov. 12).  

Hall of Fame recipients: Bill Woodward and Ron Orozco.

Fellows recipients: Derek Franks, Jill Wagner, Mark Mirko, Oscar Speace, Soma Norodom.


2014 Innovation Celebration, featuring CMAC and MCJ Hall of Fame and MCJ Scholarship Reception. This celebrated the launch of the CMAC and MCJ Partnership and honored Hall of Fame Fellows and Hall of Fame recipients as well as MCJ scholarship recipients (November 10)


Hall of Fame recipient: Gary E. Simpson


Fellows recipients: Shirley (Melikian) Armbruster, Victor Hernandez, Jr., Robert Gauthier, Peter Robertson,  and Michelle Von Tersch.

2012 MCJ Alumni and Friends Chapter Hall of Fame (September 27)

Hall of Fame Recipients: Desa Belyea and Lanny Larson

Inaugural fellows recipients: Bruce Batti, Stefani Booroojian, Jim Boren and Sidney Cox

2010 MCJ Alumni and Friends Chapter Hall of Fame (September 14)  

Posthumous induction of Roger Tatarian in conjunction with Fresno State Centennial Celebration.

2009 MCJ Alumni and Friends Chapter Hall of Fame Event (October 29)

Induction of Dr. Roberta Asahina and creation of the Dr. Roberta Asahina Advertising Scholarship.

2008 Inaugural MCJ Alumni and Friends Chapter Hall of Fame Event (October 20)

Induction of Ray Steele

Bios and photos  

Ray Steele 

Dr. Roberta Asahina 

Roger Tatarian